Florida is one of the largest states in the country by population. Recent estimates say there are over 20 million people living there. Out of this, 13.3% are renters. To help bring order to the millions of tenants and landlords in the state, Florida has put together an extensive landlord-tenant law.
The Florida Landlord and Tenant Statues guides the landlord-tenant relationship in the state. Below is an overview of the landlord-tenant laws in Florida.
The Federal Fair Housing Act of 1968 protects tenants in Florida. The Act states that landlords may not:
A lease is a legally binding agreement between a landlord and a tenant. It lays the foundation upon which both parties promise to uphold for the entire rental term. In Florida, the lease agreement may either be written or oral.
That being said, most leases are usually written because oral agreements can often be misunderstood. Oral agreements can also be difficult to prove should there arise a dispute in the future.
A lease should include legal details like:
Florida rental laws specify when and how a lease can be terminated. A lease can be terminated when:
In any case, the one terminating the tenancy is obligated under the Florida landlord-tenant law to give the other party an advance notice of a minimum of 30 days.
For non-payment of rent by the tenant, the landlord is required to give the tenant an eviction notice to either leave the property or pay due rent. Unless a different date is specified in the lease agreement, rent is generally due on the first day of every month.
If a tenant breaks the lease in any other way, the tenant will have seven days to either move out or cure the violation.
At all times during the tenancy, a tenant shall:
The landlord’s responsibilities depend on the type of the rental unit.
At all times during the tenancy, the landlord of a dwelling other than a single-family home or duplex shall provide:
The landlord must also comply with the requirements of applicable building, housing, and health codes.
The landlord of a single-family home or duplex at all times during the tenancy shall:
A Florida tenant has the right to quiet enjoyment in their home. Before a landlord can enter a tenant’s apartment, Florida lease laws require that they give notice in most situations. The landlord must give a reasonable notice, of at least 24 hours.
The landlord may enter a tenant’s premises under the following circumstances:
Objecting to legal entries by the tenant may result in:
This is just a brief overview of the Florida Landlord Tenant Laws. This is not to be used for legal purposes, but to inform owners and tenants of a few staple laws. Barrons Property Managers is not a Legal Consultant and cannot be held liable for any misinformation.
913 Gulf Breeze Parkway Suite 12 | Gulf Breeze, Florida 32561 | (850) 934-2588
For individuals with assessability needs, please contact our office for assistance at 850-934-2588 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Copyright © 2019. Barrons Property Managers. All Rights Reserved. Property Management Website by Planet Synergy, Inc.